/ Home » Science » Administration


Implementation of The Nigeria Prize for Science

The overall prize implementation is the responsibility of the Advisory Board, supported by the secretariat which is located within NLNG. They are responsible for:

  1. Overall governance and administration of the prize.
  2. Appointment and supervision of judges and the adjudication process.
  3. Approval of the outcome of the adjudication process.

Profile of Members of Advisory Board

Prof Alfred Akpoveta Susu (FAS)

Prof Alfred Susu presenting his lectureProf Alfred Akpoveta Susu is a Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering, University of Lagos and fellow of Nigerian Academy of Sciences. Prof Susu graduated in Chemical Engineering from the University of Idaho and Stanford University California, USA up to PHD.

Prof Susu has been listed as a noteworthy Chemical Engineering educator by Marquis Who’s who. He was the first Nigeria to have co-won The Nigerian Prize for Science (NPS) on the inaugural year, 2004, with his then Doctoral student, Kingsley Abhulimen. Their work was entitled: “Real –Time Computer-Assisted Leak Detection/Location Reporting and Inventory Loss Management System”. This is used for detecting liquid or gas behaviour in pipelines carrying liquid or gas. The two clinched $20,000 for the work.

Prof Susu is a distinguished scholar and also winner of Nigerian National Merit Award. He is currently the Chairman of Advisory Board of The Nigeria Prize for Science.

Prof. Bart O Nnaji FAS, FA Eng. CON, NNOM

Prof Bath O Nnaji FAS, FA Eng. CON, NNOMProf Bath Nnaji is one of the greatest gifts to Nigeria and one of the world’s leading Professor of Robotics. He has been Director, US National Science Foundation Centre for e-Design, University of Pittsburgh; Kepler Whitford Professor of Engineering and Alcoa Foundation Professor of Engineering, both in the University of Pittsburgh. Prof Nnaji was also a Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering at the University of Massachusetts, USA.

He was former Nigerian Minister of Science & Technology and Minister of Power; former member, Presidential Advisory Council, Special Adviser to the President on Power and former Chairman, Presidential Task Force on Power. He was also the former President Independent Power Producers Association of Nigeria and Founder and Director, Geometric Power Limited, first independent power project in Eastern Nigeria. Shortly after joining University of Massachusetts’s faculty of Engineering, he became the founder and Director of Automation and Robotics Laboratory at the university and rose to Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering in 1992. He was the creator of the term, geometric reasoning, which means that most things we operate has geometric configuration.

Prof Nnaji is Fellow of Nigerian Academy of Science, holds national honours of Commander of Order of the Niger (CON) and also holds the traditional title of “Onwa Enugu” conferred on him by his Nkanu people in Enugu state, in addition to numerous other titles and awards from different parts of the world.

Chief (Dr) Mrs Nike Akande (OON, CON)

Chief (Dr) Mrs Nike AkandeChief Dr Mrs Nike Akande (OON, CON) is an economist, accountant and industrialist who have served Nigeria twice as the first female Minister of Industries. She was also the immediate past Chairman of the Lagos Chamber of Industries, Mines and Agriculture (LCCIMA) and the first woman to occupy that position. Chief Akande has several awards to her credit including the African Federation of Women Entrepreneur Award in Adis Ababa in 1998; Officer of Order of Niger (OON) and Commander of Order of the Niger in 2014. She holds the traditional title of Ekerin Iyalode of Ibadanland. Dr Akande is a member of the Advisory Board of The Nigeria Prize for Science.

Prof Michael Adikwu

Prof Michael AdikwuIn 2006, Prof Michael Adikwu, a Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, won the Nigeria Prize for Science with his work “Wound Healing Devices (Formulations) Containing Snail Mucins”. The distinguished judges of The Nigeria Prize for Science considered the work of great merit in healing wounds. Prof Adikwu, who schooled in University of Nigeria before becoming a lecturer in the University was also a postdoctoral Fellow at Heinrich Heine University, Dusseldorf, Germany and Kyotto Pharmaceutical University, Kyotto, Japan as well as University of Manchester, United Kingdom.

In 2014, he was appointed Vice Chancellor of University of Abuja. Prof Adikwu is currently a member of the Advisory Board of The Nigeria Prize for Science.

Responsibilities of The Advisory Board

The board shall meet at least four times per annum on the Prize. These meetings can be physical or virtual. The roles of the board include to:

  • Appoint judges, including the international consultant, for annual adjudication process for The Nigeria Prize for Literature.
  • Provide general steer on the requirements for submission and adjudication process for the judges.
  • Provide general guidance to judges on winning entry if there is a stalemate.
  • Participate in the award ceremony for winners of the Prizes.
  • Review and approve call for entries.
  • Handover received entries to judges and approve judges’ adjudication guidelines.
  • Approve assessment criteria for each genre.
  • Announce, with the support of the judges and NLNG, the winner of the Prize.


Panel of Judges

This is a committee of judges set up by the Advisory Board to review and adjudicate entries submitted for The Nigeria Prize for Literature. Members of the panel shall be selected by the Advisory Board to reflect the geo-ethnic balance of Nigeria. Their tenure is annual. The Nigeria Prize for Literature shall have three Nigerian judges and one international judge.



  • The judge(s) must be experts, adjudged to be sufficiently versed in the genre under consideration for the particular year.
  • A judge shall be nominated by the Advisory Board but shall be formally appointed with a letter signed by NLNG Management. Such appointment can only become effective when the appointee acknowledges such letter and accepts the appointment in writing.
  • The judges must be persons of impeccable character.
  • The person(s) will be required to have a personal laptop which can be used for online meetings via Skype, Microsoft Teams, etc.
  • The person(s) must have basic Internet and computer skills to ensure they can navigate online platforms easily for the purpose of reports and online meetings.
  • The person(s) must be able to dedicate considerable time to the Prize in the year, be willing to travel for the purpose of the Prize and be in considerably good health to undertake such travels.


Roles and Responsibilities

Duties of the judges shall include:

  • Develop and agree on the assessment criteria, to be approved by the Advisory Board, for adjudication of the Prize.
    Read the entries and evaluate objectively to provide the long- and shortlists.
  • Submit reports of evaluation on agreed deadlines to the secretariat which submits same to the Advisory Board.
    Ensure that adjudication is transparent, free and fair.
  • Align judgement with report of international consultant and Advisory Board and agree on winner(s)/no winner where necessary.
  • Prepare reports for the announcement of winners using the works on the shortlist of three.
    Prepare a detailed report of adjudication and submit to the secretariat at the end of the cycle.